home   english   sitemap   galerie   artclub   orient online   jukebox   litbox   termine   shop   my journalism
PHILO FORUM
September 2002 (Deutsche Version)
Violence Leads to Guilt.
Thoughts on the Concept of Violence
(08.05.02) "Violence Leads to Guilt" is the introduction to a philosophical discussion. The standard definition of violence was developed by the sociologist Johan Galtung. He distinguishes physisical from structural violence. Unequality of chance or repressive laws, for instance, belong to structural violence. Later, Galtung added a cultural violence which basically represents a kind of ideological frame.

When I say: violence leads to guilt, people will intervene. There is just violence, they will say, and: violence is not violence. Therefore, only a part of violence will lead to guilt. This may be true. Was the traditional concept of violence well defined, so that, for instance, one could define "terrorism" in a politically relevant way, which seemingly has not happened yet, then it would be useless to think about new approaches in the definition of violence.

There hardly is any controversy about the concept of physical violence, and our legal system would not be able to do without one. Structural violence is quite well defined in theory, but it does not reach the collective consciousness, nor the politicians and the judges. Because of these deficiencies and the international topical need for conflict solutions, I will try a new approach.

There is hardly any doubt about the fact that violence and guilt are somehow connected. And "guilt" in several respects is easier to define than "violence". How is it, if we defined all those things as violence that lead to guilt? Will it bring us away from the violence discourse, or will it bring up new ideas? I don't know that myself, but it seems to be worth a try.

The Philo Forum and its texts are in permanent change and supplementation. If you have good ideas, let me know.

Kind regards
Anis Hamadeh

Some basic thoughts:

Guilt

Violence punishes itself

The Situation Analysis


First Approach (12.05.02)


Example Erfurt
(Lesson of Erfurt)
Example September 11
(Lesson of September 11)

Example Israel

Article in German: "Terror & Counter Terror" by Professor Georg Meggle (Uni Leipzig) (No longer online)


Review of: "Terror & Counter Terror" by Prof. Georg Meggle


(Sabine Yacoub 24.05.02:) Guilt and Trust

One reason why it is difficult for many people to admit guilt is the lack of trust. Trust in justice, trust in other people. When I admit guilt I show weakness. The other can use the situation to humiliate me, to embarrass me (in front of others). In this case, the situation is not solved, e.g. by a just punishment or a compensation. Instead, the other will reproach me with my guilt, will go on keeping my feelings of guilt alive, in order to gain power over me.

If, on the other hand, there is a relation of trust and confidence and the wish of the concerned people to install justice, then I can admit my guilt. Because then I know that the confession will help to clear the situation and to overcome my feelings of guilt.


(25.05.02) What is Guilt?

"What is guilt?" is the fundamental question of ethics. We need an answer in order to then ask further: "How can guilt be avoided and decomposed?"

When a perpetrator X kills, injures, robs or cheats a victim Y, then X becomes guilty. There are proto-typical cases where a judgement is easy about whether or not it is a guilt situation, and there are cases of doubt.
- An act can be violent, even when the perpetrator has no sense of his or her guilt.
- Non-acts can also lead to guilt, for example the ignoring of facts like UN resolutions, or, on the private level, the ignoring of feelings.
- Typical violence is only the case, when the victim did not want the act. This is not always clear, especially, when the victim is silent during and after the act, when he or she does not want to put pressure on the perpetrator, or, when he or she does not really know what they want.

Also to consider is that we all are only human and thus make mistakes and gather guilt. Guilt is not the end of the world. If, anyway, guilt is not decomposed it grows bigger. In order to decide whether something is a deed of violence we need principles. The national law, for example. Or the Christian commandments. Or the Sharia. In each case, jurisdiction has been massively influenced by cases of precedents and real, actual cases. To get closer to the question of guilt I will take some actual case studies and will construe some other cases from everyday life. While doing this, I will develop those factors of the situation analysis which seem relevant to me. I will choose examples out of politics as well as out of private life, because I assume that there are generally valid mechanisms and possibilities of analysis.

Presuppositions:

Definition of Terrorism

Out Group Behavior

Appeasement Policy

The Logic of Violence:

Control Thinking

Camp Thinking

Victim Thinking

Analysen:
Guilt: (12.05.02) Guilt leads to feelings of guilt. Feelings of guilt aim to dissolve. The process of dissolving feelings of guilt is the natural way of avoiding and settling violent situations. In order to reach that aim it is necessary to sensetize society for guilt. Society likes this about as much as tax raises. Still it is important to create a sensetized climate and a self-critical mind. What is guilt, to begin with? When are feelings of guilt justified, and how can we reduce them in order to deescalate situations? These are the central questions in the discourse. (back)
Violence: (12.05.02) The consciousness about having exerted violence on somebody has negative influences on the psyche. The accumulation of guilt brings about internal barriers which prevent the realization of wishes. Job of a progressive definition of violence it must be to show that the punishments of violence in our world often are violent themselves. This can only be successful, if we talk about guilt, atonement, and the quality of punishments. If we punish in a wrong way - i.e. in such a way that the violence situation is not solved - we must ask ourselves how a right punishment looks like, and if punishments are necessary at all (which I think). This discourse has to be self-critical and strictly measured by its results. "Violence punishes itself" is a facet, a partial truth. It is karma thinking. (back)
The Situation Analysis: (12.05.02) Every violence is connected to a situation. To a situation belong elements like to a sentence. We need this frame in order to come to moral judgements, and a violence discourse without a moral claim would be ridiculous. Every violence situation has a victim, somebody, whose right was taken away. More difficult is the matter with the perpetrator, for sometimes - like in structural violence - he cannot precisely be located. Next to victim and perpetrator there is the act. And the people who know about the act. Also to the violence scenario belong guilt and its solving. I would also count the judge into the elements of the stuation. When a violence situation is sufficiently defined, and defined by the appropriate criteria, then it can be closed. The idea of the situation analysis is to provide frameworks in order to close violence situations, i.e. to end violence. A special regard is to be given to the consciousness of victim, perpetrator, and witnesses, for example in the questions of repression and the people's capability of guilt (Schuldfähigkeit). (back)
First Approach: (12.05.02): In the "violence leads to guilt" definition things which we normally would regard to be physical violence, are not, if there is no guilt involved. In a sado maso situation, for example, in which all concerned people agree on e.g. physical hits, there is neither a victim, nor are there any perpetrators. In my test definition this is not violence, rather it is injury. "Violence" in this definition is closer to "forced pressure" (Zwang) than to "injury of physis" or even "injury of psyche", simply because the injury alone has no moral relevance. In this discourse we want to understand what violence is and not what physical or psychic hits are. These are completely different things. Still, I am using Galtung's concept of structural violence, as I at this stage only notice without further being concerned about it. The aim of this analysis is to find practical results for politics and private life by bringing unconscious action patterns to consciousness and by providing suggestions for socio-political strategies which can prevent violence on the one hand, and help to deal with current violence situations, on the other. The guy who writes this is in an open learning process himself and has neither the claim to be the first to formulate these theses, nor does he wish to create a waterproof or ideological construction. (back)
Example Erfurt: (10.05.02) After that a pupil had committed mass murder in a school in Erfurt, immediately followed by his suicide, political consequences seem inevitable. Up to now the politicians agreed to tighten up the weapon law, to more thoroughly control violent movies, and to tighten up what is called the youth protection (Jugendschutz). This includes the renunciation of the lowering of the minimum age for visiting discotheques from 16 to 14 years. The consumption of cigarettes and related matters also seem to be involved here. So actually those groups are punished to which the perpetrator belonged, that is riflepeople and juveniles. This policy is as consequent as it is helpless, for it has only little to do with the issue of countering violence. It is consequent in that it tries to copy the act in a way, without being conscious about the fact that with this it is already creating a completely new situation. By bringing in repressive (zwanghaft) behavior it can only produce the same kind of behavior. The opposite way, i.e. to do without repressions, would - on the other hand - lead to a relaxation, for it is the presentation of non-violence and will be answered so. This strategy is not the one of the politicians, most of all, because the system with its monopoly on violence does not realize that it can become guilty itself, or that it is afraid of this thought and thus represses it. This criticizm concerns, before all other social sectors, the politicians and the media. (back)
Lesson of Erfurt: (10.05.02) Erfurt was a violence situation. There was a perpetrator and there were innoscent victims. The case is clear. The perpetrator judged himself with a punishment that lies beyond any kind of punishment of the German law. There cannot be any compensation for the grief of the relatives and friends of the victims. A compensation in respect to the perpetrator is given with his geath and thus his acknowledgement of guilt. Differently from the mourning situation, the violence situation is closed or over. The justified questions of violent videos and violence in general were there before Erfurt. Thus, every restricting political measure which immediately refers to the Erfurt situation, is wrong. Politically right is to sincerely attempt an understanding of the causes of this act. (back)
Example September Eleventh: (24.05.02) The measures of the so-called domestic security as well as the ones for the capture of the terrorists and the destruction of terroristic organizations have up to now hardly brought about any serious positive results. On the contrary, we can witness an increase of violence for example in Israel, Palestine, and Kashmere, and political assaults in the Netherlands, in Tunesia, in Pakistan, in Dagestan, and elsewhere. The language of highest officials in the world is becoming rude and rough, other crises - i.e. in Iraq - are being provoked, the culture struggle takes shape (for instance in the conservative German press), and the political situation in the world is unstable despite the measures of the struggle against terrorism. The question must be allowed why we are living in an age that in some respects resembles the situation shortly before World War I, and, whether it is not our own social mechanisms of violence, misunderstood as rational policy, which in fact are factors that leads to escalation. (back)
Lesson of September Eleventh: (24.05.02) September Eleventh was an act of violence with thousands of victims. It was so grave that violence became the top subject in the whole world. In this constellation we can see a polarization between those people, who are kept in camp thinking and thus want to end "the violence of the others", and those, who want to stop violence in general and who ask themselves about their own role in the different situations and about what the proper actions are to reach that aim. Concerning the lesson from September Eleventh I have the two statements: FOUR LEVELS OF TERRORISM and THE WORLD AFTER SEPTEMBER 11. (back)
Example Israel: (15.05.02) The world public lacks orientation and feels insecure, when single politicians can with deadly results and in a massive way disregard the human rights and the UN resolutions without being punished, and before all: without being prevented from doing it. Why shouldn't there be a Le Pen, if there is a Sharon? The West is covering Israel's extremes, because its values are based on camp thinking. Thus the West is setting the same bad example. Israel in return actually has or had to expect less criticizm in the world than other countries because of the Holocaust. It is the not digested horrors of World War II which are coming back on us now everywhere in the world and with everywhere the same mechanisms. (back)
(20.05.02:) Review of the article "Terror & Counter Terror" by Prof. Georg Meggle (Leipzig 2002):

After having supposed in the introductory text of the Philo Forum that there is up to now no politically utilizable defitinion of terrorism, I am looking for evidence to prove my thesis wrong.

On 06.12.01 already, the TAGESZEITUNG wrote about an official EU definition. Hence a terrorist is somebody who is destabilizing the order of the state. The EU's working basis is the definition of terrorism as an act which has the aim "to intimidate the population is a severe way, to blackmail official and international organisations, or to destabilize or destroy the political, constitunional, economic, or social order of a state or an international organisation." To make clear that we are still living in a democracy, they added, "that basic rights like the right of assembly, the freedom of opinion, and the right to demonstrate are neither to be lessened nor to be undermined." (see
Ozzy 42.1 - in German).

It can be assumed that there are a lot of definitions of terrorism, and I want to present here the important ones that I come across. To those definitively belongs the article by Professor Georg Meggle from the University of Leipzig "Terror & Counter-Terror. First Ethical Reflexions", published in: Dt. Zeitschrift für Philosophie, Berlin 50 (2002) 1, pp 149-162. Prof. Meggle's article was held as a lecture at the end of 2001 at different German universities. The pdf file from which I cite, has 22 pages and falls into two parts. The first one deals with a general defintion of terrorism (T), the second with concrete political assessments concerning the Afghanistan war and the war against terrorism in general.

Meggle's definition of terrorism reads: "T acts are acts of (attempted) causing of aims by means of violence-induced terror against random innoscent people."

The most interesting part for me seems to be part 1, and of it point 1: "What is terrorism?" In the following here are the titles of the other points:
2. The ethics of violence and the ethics of war (Criteria for the just war) (pp 7-10)
3. The ethics of terror (pp 10-13)
4. The ethics of anti-terror (pp 13 - 15)
Part 2: Afghanistan, USA, UNO (pp 15-22)
Let us take a closer look at the pages 2-7: Meggle devides the question of terrorism into three sub-questions: the semantic question (What is T?), the verification question (How can we recognize T?), and the evaluation question. He states that the concept terrorism is biased and often is used in battle. Concerning the perpetrator, Meggle sees three levels of his T action: the violence calculation, meaning that the perpetrator takes violence against innoscent into account, the terror calculation, meaning that, for example, the public gets intimidated, and the horror function, accoding to which a government, for instance, is seen by the perpetrator as being a possible object for blackmail.

In order to define the criteria for T acts, Meggle refers to the situation analysis, and this seems to be the only workable approach to me. The terroristic act is central to him, and that is the situation. As elements of the situation he enumerates with an example (p 5):

Act a (e.g. Ignition of bomb)
Actor X (Separatist)
Addressee of violence Y (cafe visitor)
Addressee of terror Z (Population)
Final adressee F (Government)
Aimed result R (Release of prisoners)

My evaluation: the article is an important step on the way to a politically utilizable definition of the concept of terrorism. Many aspects in Vieles in Meggle's article are, to my mind, also indicating that the definition of "terrorism" is not really failing because of questions of classification, but rather because of the politicians who seem to feel obliged to follow practical loyalities rather than philosophical definitions. The central question of argument still remains: when do we call something a freedom fight or a defense fight, and when terrorism? This concerns the by Meggle so-called "light T acts", for there is a broad consenst about the heavy T acts.

Concerning Meggle's political visions, I can only subscribe to them: An international court of justice and an unlimited priority competence of the UN. This in my view also is the best solution. In this discourse, the term "collateral damage" should not be used, which is dehumanizing humans (viz. Ozzy 23.12 - in German).

In the Philo Forum, the situation analysis will be elaborated, because there is a lot to say about that, as is the case with the distinctive criteria of "violence" and "terror".

(back)
Victim Thinking: (12.05.01) In each violence situation there is a victim and a complementary guilt. The victim's behavior is involved in shaping the further course of the violence situation. His claim on compensation - and where this is not possible, on the acknowledgement of the situation - is legitimate. Victim thinking starts where the victim leaves the situation and demands the acknowledgement of his ego. This demand is as usual as it is illigitimate. It is aggravating the closing of the violence situation. When the victim becomes an ego victim, it is clinging to the violence situation. But a violence situation can only be ended, when the victim is prepared for that. The perpetrator normally is not ready to finish the situation, because he does not view it as such, or refuses to acknowledge it. In order to close a violence situation a decision from outside is often helpful, if it is accepted by all sides. The UN, for example. By overcoming victim thinking we also gain new possibilities to close violence situations without a judge. See "Faked Interview (4)" (back)
                                  up

home   english   sitemap   galerie   artclub   orient online   jukebox   litbox   termine   shop   my journalism
PHILO FORUM
September 2002 (English Version)
Gewalt führt zu Schuld.
Überlegungen zum Gewaltbegriff
(08.05.02) "Gewalt führt zu Schuld" ist die Einleitung zu einer philosophischen Diskussion. Die Standard-Gewaltdefinition hat der Soziologe Johan Galtung entwickelt. Er unterscheidet physische von struktureller Gewalt. Chancenungleichheit oder repressive Gesetze etwa zählen zur strukturellen Gewalt. Später stellte Galtung dem noch eine kulturelle Gewalt dazu, die gewissermaßen den ideologischen Überbau darstellt.

Wenn ich hier sage: Gewalt führt zu Schuld, wird man mir widersprechen. Es gibt gerechte Gewalt, wird man sagen, und: Gewalt ist nicht gleich Gewalt. Deshalb führt auch nur ein Teil der Gewalt zu Schuld. Mag sein. Wäre der traditionelle Gewaltbegriff gut definiert, sodass man zum Beispiel "Terrorismus" politisch verwertbar definieren könnte, was offensichtlich noch nicht geglückt ist, dann wäre es auch müßig, über neue Ansätze in der Gewaltdefinition nachzudenken.

Über den Begriff der physischen Gewalt besteht kaum eine Kontroverse, und unser Justizsystem käme ohne ihn auch nicht aus. Die strukturelle Gewalt ist in der Theorie recht gut definiert, doch gelangt sie weder ins Kollektivbewusstsein, noch in die Politik und Justiz. Angesichts dieser Mängel und dem international aktuellen Bedarf nach Konfliktlösungen, versuche ich eine neue Betrachtung.

Dass Gewalt und Schuld miteinander zu tun haben, wird kaum jemand bestreiten. Dabei ist "Schuld" in manchen Hinsichten besser zu definieren als "Gewalt". Wie ist es, wenn man Gewalt als all die Dinge definiert, die zu Schuld führen? Führt es vom Gewaltdiskurs weg, oder bringt es neue Erkenntnisse? Ich weiß es auch nicht, aber es scheint mir einen Versuch wert zu sein. Wenn Sie gute Ideen haben, nur her damit!

Beste Grüße
Anis Hamadeh

Einige Basisgedanken:

Schuld

Gewalt straft sich selbst.

Die Situationsanalyse


Erste Annäherung (12.05.02)


Beispiel Erfurt
(Lehre aus Erfurt)
Beispiel Elfter September
(Lehre aus dem Elften September)
Beispiel Israel

Aufsatz: "Terror & Gegen-Terror" von Prof. Georg Meggle (Uni Leipzig) (Nicht mehr online)


(20.05.02:) Besprechung des Aufsatzes "Terror & Gegen-Terror" von Prof. Georg Meggle (Leipzig 2002)


(Sabine Yacoub 24.05.02:) Schuld und Vertrauen

Ein Grund, warum es vielen schwer fällt, Schuld zuzugeben, ist das Fehlen von Vertrauen. Vertrauen auf Gerechtigkeit, Vertrauen in andere Menschen. Wenn ich Schuld eingestehe, zeige ich Schwäche. Der Andere kann die Situation dazu nutzen, mich zu erniedrigen, mich (vor Anderen) bloßzustellen. Statt die Situation z. B. durch eine gerechte Strafe oder Entschädigung aufzulösen, kommt es dazu, dass der Andere mir die Schuld noch lange vorhält, meine Schuldgefühle immer weiter am Leben hält, um damit Macht über mich zu bekommen.

Besteht jedoch ein Vertauensverhältnis und der Wunsch der Beteiligten Gerechtigkeit herzustellen, dann kann ich meine Schuld eingestehen. Denn dann weiß ich, dass das Eingeständnis dazu beiträgt, die Situation zu klären und meine Schuldgefühle zu überwinden.


(25.05.02) Was ist Schuld?

"Was ist Schuld?" ist die fundamentale Frage der Ethik. Wir brauchen eine Antwort, um dann weiterfragen zu können: "Wie kann Schuld vermieden und abgebaut werden?"

Wenn ein Täter X ein Opfer Y tötet, verletzt, beraubt oder betrügt, macht sich X schuldig. Es gibt prototypische Fälle, wo das Urteil leicht fällt, ob eine Schuld vorliegt, und es gibt Zweifelsfälle.
- Eine Handlung kann eine Gewalttat sein, auch wenn der Täter kein Schuldbewusstsein hat.
- Auch Nicht-Handlungen können zu Schuld führen, etwa das Ignorieren von Tatsachen wie UNO-Resolutionen oder, auf der privaten Ebene, von Gefühlen.
- Typische Gewalt liegt nur vor, wenn das Opfer die Tat nicht wollte. Das ist nicht immer eindeutig, besonders dann, wenn das Opfer während und nach der Tat schweigt, wenn es den Täter nicht belasten will, oder auch, wenn es nicht genau weiß, was es will.

Zu berücksichtigen ist ferner, dass wir alle nur Menschen sind und damit, dass wir Fehler machen, wir uns schuldig machen. Schuld ist nicht gleich ein Weltuntergang. Aufgestaute Schuld allerdings vergrößert sich. Um entscheiden zu können, wann etwas eine Gewalttat ist, braucht man Grundsätze. Das Bundesgesetzbuch zum Beispiel. Oder die christlichen Gebote. Oder die Scharia. In jedem Fall wird und wurde die Rechtsprechung wesentlich beeinflusst durch Präzedenzfälle und überhaupt Fälle aus der Rechtspraxis. Um der Frage nach der Schuld näherzukommen, werde ich einige Beispiel-Fälle heranziehen und einige andere konstruieren, die der Alltag hergibt. Dabei werde ich die mir relevant erscheinenden Faktoren der Situationsanalyse entwickeln. Die Beispiele wähle ich aus der Politik ebenso wie aus dem Privatleben, da ich annehme, dass es allgemein gültige Mechanismen und Analysemöglichkeiten gibt.

Voraussetzungen:

Terrorismusdefinition

Out-Group-Verhalten

Entspannungspolitik

Die Logik der Gewalt:

Kontrolldenken

Lagerdenken

Opferdenken

Analysen:
Schuld: (12.05.02) Schuld führt zu Schuldgefühlen. Schuldgefühle streben nach Auflösung. Der Prozess der Auflösung von Schuldgefühlen ist der natürliche Weg der Gewaltvermeidung und -schlichtung. Um dies zu erreichen, ist es notwendig, die Gesellschaft für Schuld zu sensibilisieren. Das mag die Gesellschaft ungefähr so gern wie Steuererhöhungen. Dennoch gilt es, ein sensibilisiertes Klima und ein selbstkritisches Bewusstsein zu schaffen. Was ist eigentlich Schuld? Wann sind Schuldgefühle berechtigt, und wie kann man sie abbauen, um Situationen zu deeskalieren? Dies sind die zentralen Fragen des Diskurses. (zurück)
Gewalt: (12.05.02) Jede Gewalt ist an eine Situation gebunden. Zu einer Situation gehören Elemente wie zu einem Satz. Um moralische Urteile bilden zu können, brauchen wir diesen Rahmen, und ein Gewaltdiskurs ohne moralischen Anspruch wäre lächerlich. Jede Gewaltsituation hat ein Opfer, jemand, dessen Recht genommen wurde. Bei dem Täter wird es schon schwieriger, da er sich, etwa bei struktureller Gewalt, oft nicht genau bestimmen lässt. Neben Opfer und Täter gibt es die Tat. Und die Mitwisser. Ebenfalls zum Gewaltszenario gehört die Schuld und deren Abtragung. ich würde auch noch den Richter als Beteiligten der Situation betrachten. Wenn eine Gewaltsituation hinreichend und nach den richtigen Kriterien definiert ist, kann sie abgeschlossen werden. Sinn der Situationsanalyse ist, Voraussetzungen zu schaffen, um Gewaltsituationen abzuschließen, also um Gewalt zu beenden. Besondere Beachtung verdient dabei das Bewusstsein von Opfer, Täter, und Mitwissern, etwa bei den Fragen nach Verdrängung und Schuldfähigkeit. (zurück)
Die Situationsanalyse: (12.05.02) Jede Gewalt ist an eine Situation gebunden. Zu einer Situation gehören Elemente wie zu einem Satz. Um moralische Urteile bilden zu können, brauchen wir diesen Rahmen, und ein Gewaltdiskurs ohne moralischen Anspruch wäre lächerlich. Jede Gewaltsituation hat ein Opfer, jemand, dessen Recht genommen wurde. Bei dem Täter wird es schon schwieriger, da er sich, etwa bei struktureller Gewalt, oft nicht genau bestimmen lässt. Neben Opfer und Täter gibt es die Tat. Und die Mitwisser. Ebenfalls zum Gewaltszenario gehört die Schuld und deren Abtragung. ich würde auch noch den Richter als Beteiligten der Situation betrachten. Wenn eine Gewaltsituation hinreichend und nach den richtigen Kriterien definiert ist, kann sie abgeschlossen werden. Sinn der Situationsanalyse ist, Voraussetzungen zu schaffen, um Gewaltsituationen abzuschließen, also um Gewalt zu beenden. Besondere Beachtung verdient dabei das Bewusstsein von Opfer, Täter, und Mitwissern, etwa bei den Fragen nach Verdrängung und Schuldfähigkeit. (zurück)
Erste Annäherung: (12.05.02): Nach der Gewalt-führt-zu-Schuld-Definition ist das, was wir normalerweise physische Gewalt nennen, keine mehr, wenn keine Schuld vorliegt. In einer Sado-Maso-Situation beispielsweise, in der sich alle Beteiligten einig über z.B. körperliche Schläge sind, gibt es weder Opfer noch Täter. Nach meiner Versuchsdefinition liegt hier keine Gewalt vor, eher Verletzung. "Gewalt" in dieser Definition liegt näher bei "Zwang" als bei "Verletzung der Physis" oder gar "Verletzung der Psyche", einfach deshalb, weil die Verletzung allein keine moralische Relevanz hat. In diesem Diskurs geht es darum, zu verstehen, was Gewalt ist, und nicht etwa, was physische oder psychische Schläge sind. Das sind völlig unterschiedliche Dinge. Dennoch benutze ich Galtungs Begriff der strukturellen Gewalt, wie ich zunächst einmal beobachtend feststelle. Diese Analysen haben das Ziel, für Politik und Privatleben praktische Ergebnisse zu bringen, durch eine Bewusstmachung von Handlungsmustern und durch Vorschläge zu politisch-gesellschaftlichen Strategien, die einerseits Gewalt verhindern und andererseits dabei helfen können, mit aktuellen Gewaltsituationen umzugehen. Der das hier schreibt, ist selbst in einem offenen Lernprozess und hat weder den Anspruch, diese Thesen als erster zu formulieren, noch den Wunsch, ein wasserdichtes oder ideologisches Konstrukt zu schaffen. (zurück)
Beispiel Erfurt: (10.05.02) Nachdem ein Schüler einen Massenmord an einer Schule in Erfurt verübt und sich danach selbst getötet hat, scheinen politische Konsequenzen unausweichlich. Bislang einigte man sich auf eine Verschärfung des Waffenrechtes, auf strengere Überwachung von Gewaltfilmen sowie eine Verschärfung dessen, was Jugendschutz genannt wird. Darunter fällt auch der Verzicht auf die Herabsetzung des Mindestalters für Diskothekenbesuche von 16 auf 14 Jahre. Es geht wohl auch um Zigarettenkonsum und verwandte Themen. Es werden also faktisch die Gruppen bestraft, zu denen der Täter gehörte, also Schützen und Jugendliche. Diese Politik ist ebenso folgerichtig wie hilflos, da sie mit dem Problem der Gewaltbekämpfung nur wenig zu tun hat. Folgerichtig ist diese Politik insofern, als sie die Tat gewissermaßen nachzuahmen versucht, ohne sich bewusst zu sein, dass sie damit bereits eine völlig neue Situation aufbaut. Durch die Vorgabe zwanghaften Verhaltens kann sie nur ebensolches Verhalten hervorbringen. Der umgekehrte Weg, also auf Repressionen zu verzichten, würde hingegen zu einer Entspannung, zu einer Vorgabe von Nicht-Gewalt führen. Dieser Weg wird nicht beschritten, vor allem, weil das System mit seinem Gewaltmonopol nicht erkennt, dass es sich selbst schuldig machen kann, bzw. dies befüchtet und es daher verdrängt. Diese Kritik trifft vor den anderen gesellschaftlichen Instanzen die Politiker und die Medien. (zurück)
Lehre aus Erfurt: (10.05.02) Erfurt war eine Gewaltsituation. Es gab einen Täter, und es gab unschuldige Opfer. Der Fall ist eindeutig. Der Täter hat sich selbst gerichtet mit einer Strafe, die höher liegt als irgendeine Strafe in der deutschen Rechtsprechung. Für die Trauer der Angehörigen der Opfer kann es keine Entschädigung geben. Eine Genugtuung hinsichtlich des Täters ist durch dessen Tod und damit dessen Schuldeingeständnis gegeben. Anders als die Trauersituation ist die Gewaltsituation damit abgeschlossen. Die berechtigten Fragen der Gewaltvideos und überhaupt der Gewalttätigkeit lagen bereits vor Erfurt vor. Jede einschränkende politische Maßnahme, die sich unmittelbar auf die Erfurt-Situation bezieht, ist falsch. Politisch richtig ist, die Ursachen der Tat aufrichtig verstehen zu wollen. (zurück)
Beispiel Elfter September: (24.05.02) Die Maßnahmen der sogenannten inneren Sicherheit als auch die zur Ergreifung der Terroristen und der Zerschlagung terroristischer Vereinigungen haben bislang kaum ernst zu nehmende positive Resultate erbracht. Im Gegenteil beobachten wir eine Zunahme der Gewalt zum Beispiel in Israel, Palästina und Kaschmir, und politische Anschläge in den Niederlanden, in Tunesien, in Pakistan, in Dagestan und anderswo. Die Sprache höchstrangiger Politiker verroht zusehends, weitere Krisen - etwa im Irak - werden provoziert, der Kulturkampf formiert sich (beispielsweise in der konservativen deutschen Presse), und die Weltlage stellt sich trotz der bisherigen Aktivitäten der Terrorismusbekämpfung als instabil dar. Es muss die Frage erlaubt sein, warum wir uns in einer Zeit befinden, die der Situation kurz vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg in einigen Punkten ähnelt, und, ob wir nicht sogar aufgrund unserer gesellschaftlichen Gewaltmechanismen durch vermeintlich rationale Politik die Eskalation erst herbeiführen. (zurück)
Lehre aus dem Elften September: (24.05.02) Der Elfte September war eine Gewalttat mit Tausenden von Opfern. Sie war so schwerwiegend, dass Gewalt auf der ganzen Welt zum Top-Thema geworden ist. Dabei findet eine Polarisierung statt zwischen den Leuten, die dem Lagerdenken verhaftet sind und die also "die Gewalt der anderen" beenden wollen, und denen, die die Gewalt insgesamt beenden wollen und sich fragen, welche Rolle sie selbst in den verschiedenen Situationen haben und welche Art von Handlungen die richtigen sind, um zu diesem Ziel zu kommen. Zu der Lehre aus dem Elften September habe ich die beiden Statements: VIER EBENEN DES TERRORISMUS und DIE WELT NACH DEM ELFTEN SEPTEMBER. (zurück)
Beispiel Israel: (15.05.02) Dadurch, dass einzelne Politiker sich mit tödlichen Folgen massiv über die Menschenrechte und über UNO-Resolutionen hinwegsetzen können, ohne dafür bestraft zu werden, und vor allem: ohne daran gehindert zu werden, ist die Weltöffentlichkeit verunsichert. Warum soll es keinen Le Pen geben, wenn es einen Scharon gibt? Weil die Werte der westlichen Welt auf Lagerdenken beruhen, stützt der Westen Israels Extreme und gibt damit das gleiche schlechte Vorbild ab. Israel wiederum hat(te) wegen des Holocausts faktisch in der Welt weniger Kritik zu erwarten als andere Staaten. Es sind die nicht verarbeiteten Gräuel des Zweiten Weltkrieges, die uns jetzt überall auf der Welt und mit überall gleichen Mechanismen einholen. (zurück)
(20.05.02:) Besprechung des Aufsatzes "Terror & Gegen-Terror" von Prof. Georg Meggle (Leipzig 2002):

Nachdem ich im Einleitungstext des Philo Forums angenommen habe, dass es bislang keine politisch verwertbare Terrorismusdefinition gibt, suche ich nach Hinweisen, um meine Annahme zu widerlegen.

Bereits am 06.12.01 schrieb die TAZ über eine offizielle EU-Definition. Demnach ist ein Terrorist jemand, der die Staatsordnung destabilisiert. Arbeitsgrundlage der EU ist die Definition von Terrorismus als einer Tat, die das Ziel hat, "die Bevölkerung schwerwiegend einzuschüchtern, staatliche und internationale Organisationen zu erpressen oder die politische, verfassungsmäßige, ökonomische oder soziale Ordnung eines Staates oder einer internationalen Organisation zu destabilisieren oder zu zerstören." Damit klar ist, dass wir trotzdem in einer Demokratie leben, wird hinzugefügt, "dass Grundrechte wie Vereinigungs- und Meinungsfreiheit oder das Demonstrationsrecht weder verringert noch ausgehöhlt werden dürfen." (siehe
Ozzy 42.1).

Es ist davon auszugehen, dass es viele Terrorismusdefinitionen gibt, und ich möchte die wichtigsten, die mir begegnen, hier darstellen. Dazu gehört bestimmt der Aufsatz von Professor Georg Meggle von der Uni Leipzig "Terror & Gegen-Terror. Erste Ethische Reflexionen", veröffentlicht in: Dt. Zeitschrift für Philosophie, Berlin 50 (2002) 1, S. 149-162. Der Aufsatz wurde von Prof. Meggle ende 2001 an verschiedenen deutschen Unis als Vortrag gehalten. Die im Netz stehende PDF-Datei, nach der ich zitiere, hat 22 Seiten und gliedert sich in zwei Teile. Im ersten geht es um eine allgemeine T-Definition, im zweiten um konkrete politische Einschätzungen des Afghanistankrieges und des Krieges gegen den Terror allgemein.

Die Terrorismus-Definition von Meggle lautet: "T-Akte sind Akte des (versuchten) Bewirkens von Zwecken mittels Gewalt gegenüber irgendwelchen Unschuldigen induziertem Terror."

Am Interessantesten scheint mir hier der erste Teil, und davon wiederum Punkt 1: "Was ist Terrorismus?" Hier kurz die Titel der übrigen Punkte:
2. Gewalt- und Kriegs-Ethik (Kriterien für den gerechten Krieg) (S.7-10)
3. Terror-Ethik (S. 10-13)
4. Anti-Terror-Ethik (S.13 - 15)
Teil 2: Afghanistan, USA, UNO (S.15-22)

Betrachten wir die Seiten 2-7 etwas genauer: Meggle teilt die Frage nach dem Terrorismus in drei Unterfragen: die semantische Frage (Was ist T?), die Verifikationsfrage (Woran erkennt man T?), und die Bewertungsfrage. Er geht darauf ein, dass der Begriff Terrorismus nicht wertneutral ist, sondern häufig ein Kampfbegriff. Was den Täter angeht, so sieht Meggle drei Schichten dessen T-Handlung: das Gewaltkalkül, dass der Täter also Gewalt an Unschuldigen in Kauf nimmt, das Terrorkalkül, dass also etwa die Bevölkerung sich einschüchtern lässt, und die Horrorfunktion, nach der etwa eine Regierung sich in den Augen eines Täters möglicherweise erpressen lässt.

Um die Kriterien für T-Akte zu bestimmen, bedient sich Meggle der Situationsanalyse, und dies scheint mir die einzig sinnvolle Herangehensweise zu sein. Der terroristische Akt steht bei ihm im Vordergrund, die Situation also. Als Elemente der Situation zählt er anhand eines Beispieles folgende auf (S.5):

Akt a (z.B. Aktivieren der Bombe)
Akteur X (Separatist)
Gewalt-Adressat Y (Cafèhausbesucher)
Terror-Adressat Z (Bevölkerung)
Finaler Adressat F (Regierung)
Bezweckte Wirkung R (Freilassung der Gefangenen)

Meine Bewertung: Der Aufsatz ist ein wichtiger Schritt auf dem Weg zu einem politisch verwertbaren Terrorismusbegriff. Vieles in Meggles Aufsatz weist meines Erachtens darauf hin, dass die Definition von "Terrorismus" auch nicht eigentlich an Fragen der Klassifikation scheitert, sondern an der Politik selbst, die sich eher nach praktischen Loyalitäten auszurichten scheint, als nach philosophischen Definitionen. Die Basis-Streitfrage lautet nach wie vor: Wann ist etwas ein Freiheits- oder Verteidigungskampf, und wann Terrorismus? Dies betrifft die von Meggle so genannten "leichten T-Akte", denn über die schweren herrscht großer Konsens.

Was Meggles politische Visionen angeht, so kann ich sie nur unterstreichen: Ein internationaler Gerichtshof und eine uneingeschränkte Basiskompetenz der UNO. Das ist auch nach meiner Meinung die beste Lösung. In diesem Diskurs sollte allerdings der Begriff "Kollateralschaden" nicht vorkommen, der Menschen entmenschlicht (s.a. Ozzy 23.12).

Im Philo Forum wird - was die Anregungen aus dem Meggle-Artikel angeht - die Situationsanalyse ausgebaut werden, denn dazu gibt es viel zu sagen. Ebenso zu den Unterscheidungsmerkmalen zwischen "Gewalt" und "Terror".

(zurück)
Opferdenken: (12.05.01) In jeder Gewaltsituation gibt es (ein) Opfer, dem komplementär eine Schuld gegenübersteht. Das Verhalten des Opfers bestimmt den weiteren Verlauf der Gewaltsituation mit. Sein Anspruch auf Ausgleich - und wo das nicht möglich ist, auf Anerkennung der Situation - ist legitim. Opferdenken beginnt, wo das Opfer die Situation verlässt und eine Anerkennung des Egos fordert. Diese Forderung ist ebenso gängig wie nicht legitim. Zudem erschwert sie die Beendigung der Gewaltsituation. Wenn das Opfer in der Situation zu einem Ego-Opfer wird, hält es selbst an der Gewaltsituation fest. Eine Gewaltsituation kann aber nur dann beendet werden, wenn das Opfer bereit dazu ist. Der Täter ist normalerweise nicht zur Beendigung der Situation bereit, weil er sie nicht als solche erkennt oder erkennen will. Um Gewaltsituationen abzuschließen, ist eine Entscheidungsinstanz von Außen oft hilfreich, wenn sie von allen Seiten anerkannt wird. Zum Beispiel die UNO. Bei der Überwindung des Opferdenkens bestehen darüberhinaus Möglichkeiten, Gewaltsituationen auch ohne Richter zu beenden. Zur Illustration hier das "Faked Interview (4)" (zurück)
                                  hoch